Taxpayers Win, For Now; Gas Tax Increase Proposal FAILS (VOTE BREAKDOWN)

Taxpayers had a win on Tuesday, March 14 at the Marble Palace (Arkansas Capitol) in Little Rock. The proposal (HB1726/1727) which could lead to a Gas Tax Increase FAILED in the full House of Representatives by a vote of 38-35-7. The measure would levy a new wholesale sales tax of 6.5% on gas and diesel. The proposal would be submitted to the people to approve new bonds to fund highways maintenance.

However, the bill could be re-considered and re-voted on later in the session so keep contacting your legislator and tell them to remain a NO on HB1726/HB1727, the Gas Tax Increase proposal. Call your legislator who voted Yes and ask them to change to a No. Also, do not assume that a legislator will not change from a No/Present/NV to Yes. Keep contacting your legislator to vote NO on the proposal to allow a Gas Tax Increase to occur.


Those voting AGAINST the Tax Increase Measure:


Bob Ballinger (R – Berryville)

Sonia Barker (R – Smackover)

Rick Beck (R – Center Ridge)

Frances Cavenaugh (R – Walnut Ridge)

Trevor Drown (R – Dover)

Les Eaves (R – Searcy)

Joe Farrer (R – Austin)

Lanny Fite (R – Benton)

Vivian Flowers (D – Pine Bluff)

Jack Fortner (R – Yellville)

Justin Gonzales (R – Okolona)

Kim Hammer (R – Benton)

Kim Hendren (R – Gravette)

Grant Hodges (R – Rogers)

Joe Jett (R – Success)

Jack Ladyman (R – Jonesboro)

Mark Lowery (R – Maumelle)

Robin Lundstrum (R – Elm Springs)

John Maddox (R – Mena)

Andy Mayberry (R – Hensley)

Austin McCollum (R – Bentonville)

David Meeks (R – Conway)

Josh Miller (R – Heber Springs)

John Payton (R – Wilburn)

Clint Penzo (R – Springdale)

Aaron Pilkington (R – Clarksville)

Brandt Smith (R – Jonesboro)

Nelda Speaks (R – Mountain Home)

Dan Sullivan (R – Jonesboro)

Dwight Tosh (R – Jonesboro)

DeAnn Vaught (R – DeAnn Vaught)

Jeff Williams (R – Springdale)

Carlton Wing (R – North Little Rock)

Richard Womack (R – Arkadelphia)



Those voting FOR the Tax Increase Measure:


Fred Allen (D – Little Rock)

Scott Baltz (D – Pocahontas)

Charles Blake (D – Little Rock)

Justin Boyd (R – Fort Smith)

David Branscum (R – Marshall)

Karilyn Brown (R – Sherwood)

Sarah Capp (R – Ozark)

Bruce Coleman (R – Mountainburg)

Charlie Collins (R – Fayetteville)

Carol Dalby (R – Texarkana)

Gary Deffenbaugh (R – Van Buren)

Jana Della Rosa (R – Rogers)

Dan Douglas (R – Bentonville)

Charlotte Douglas (R – Alma)

Jon Eubanks (R – Paris)

Ken Ferguson (D – Pine Bluff)

Michelle Gray (R – Melbourne)

Ken Henderson (R – Russellville)

David Hillman (R – Almyra)

Mike Holcomb (R – Pine Bluff)

Lane Jean (R – Magnolia)

Tim Lemons (R – Cabot)

Roger Lynch (R – Lonoke)

Mark D. McElroy (D – Tillar)

George McGill (D – Fort Smith)

Ron McNair (R – Alpena)

Reginald Murdock (D – Marianna)

Milton Nicks, Jr. (D – Marion)

Rebecca Petty (R – Rogers)

Matt Pitsch (R – Fort Smith)

Marcus Richmond (R – Harvey)

Laurie Rushing (R – Hot Springs)

Matthew Shepherd (R – El Dorado)

Jim Sorvillo (R – Little Rock)

James Sturch (R – Batesville)

Clarke Tucker (D – Little Rock)

Jeff Wardlaw (R – Hermitage)

Danny Watson (R – Hope)



Those voting PRESENT on the Tax Increase Measure (Equivalent to a NO vote):


David Fielding (D – Magnolia)

Michael John Gray (D – Augusta)

Douglas House (R – North Little Rock)

Bob Johnson (D – Jacksonville)

Stephen Meeks (R – Greenbrier)

Chris Richey (D – West Helena)

Warwick Sabin (D –  Little Rock)



Those NON-VOTING on the Tax Increase Measure (Equivalent to a NO vote):


Eddie Armstrong (D – North Little Rock)

Mary Bentley (R – Perryville)

Leann Burch (D – Monticello)

Bruce Cozart (R – Hot Springs)

Andy Davis (R – Little Rock)

Jim Dotson (R – Bentonville)

Deborah Ferguson (D – West Memphis)

Charlene Fite (R – Van Buren)

Mickey Gates (R – Hot Springs)

Jimmy Gazaway (R – Paragould)

Monte Hodges (D – Blytheville)

Steve Hollowell (R – Forrest City)

Greg Leding (D – Fayetteville)

Fred Love (D – Little Rock)

Steve Magie (D – Conway)

Johnny Rye (R – Trumann)

John Walker (D – Little Rock)

Les Warren (R – Hot Springs)

David Whitaker (D – Fayetteville)

Jeremy Gillam (R – Judsonia)


Image of the vote on HB1726 from inside the House Chamber